

# 2013 EXCEL AWARDS

# **BACKGROUND**

This December, East Valley Partnership will host the 20<sup>th</sup> Annual Cox Communications/East Valley Economic Forum. EVP partners with Cox Communications to present this exciting event and the distinguished 'Excel Awards'. These leadership awards are bestowed annually upon deserving leaders and organizations in our East Valley communities.

Award recipients in recent years include Mayor Jay Tibshraeny, Salt River Project, Chuck Backus, The Arizona Republic, Hugh Hallman, East Valley Institute of Technology, Dr. Debra DuVall, Save the Family Foundation of Arizona, Carl J. Kunasek, General Motors Desert Proving Grounds, Dennis Kavanaugh, The Boeing Company, Wendy Feldman-Kerr, Sandie Smith, Christine Scarpati, the late John Rhodes, the late Eddie Basha, Neil Giuliano, Douglas Coleman, Jim Patterson, David Thompson, Jim Nelson, and Chuck Wahlheim.

Making a nomination is an excellent way to thank valued leaders and organizations for their efforts and accomplishments.

### CATEGORIES

"Dwight Patterson Lifetime Achievement Award" – This award honors a long-time leader in the East Valley and is given to an <u>individual</u> who lives or works in the East Valley, is well respected, has made <u>significant lifelong contributions</u> to their community, and has exhibited the characteristics of a true leader.

"Kerry Dunne Sustaining Leadership Award" – This award honors the long-time EVP Executive Director who is credited for sustaining the Partnership. It is given to an <u>organization</u> in the East Valley who has exhibited <u>consistent</u>, <u>sustaining</u> leadership in a given area or industry.

#### NOMINATIONS

You may nominate more than one individual, but may nominate them only once. You may nominate yourself. You may also resubmit nominations that were not selected as recipients in previous years.

Nominations must be received by East Valley Partnership no later than **Friday, October 18, 2013**. Nominations may be submitted to Megan Sterling at <a href="mailto:msterling@evp-az.org">msterling@evp-az.org</a> or by mail to the address below.

One finalist will be chosen for each award category and will be announced at the East Valley Economic Forum in early December (event details are currently being finalized and will be circulated as soon as they are available).

The judging committee has the discretion to shift an entry to a more appropriate category.



# 2013 EXCEL AWARDS NOMINATION FORM

Nominee (if applicable):	
Title:	Organization:
Address:	
Telephone:	E-mail:
Title:	Organization:
Telephone:	E-mail:
Relationship to Nominee:	
Please check the box for the award the nomine	ee will be considered for and attach the following to your submission:
A narrative that answers one of the foll	owing questions (max. 300 words)
☐ "Dwight Patterson Lifetime Achie	evement Award" - What <u>lifelong contributions</u> has the nominee
demonstrated in the community?	
☐ "Kerry Dunne Sustaining Leaders	ship Award" - How has the organization exemplified sustaining
<u>leadership</u> in a given area or industr	y in the East Valley?
<ul> <li>Bio / resume for nominee or backgrour</li> <li>Letter(s) of recommendation from colle</li> </ul>	•

# **DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS IS OCTOBER 18, 2013**

Nominations must be received by Megan Sterling at East Valley Partnership by **COB on October 18.** Send electronically to <a href="mailto:msterling@evp-az.org">msterling@evp-az.org</a> or mail to the address below.

East Valley Partnership Attn: Megan Sterling 535 West Baseline Road, Suite 107 Mesa, AZ 85210

Thank you for helping us honor exceptional leaders in our communities. We look forward to seeing you at the 2013 Economic Forum.